Avenues of Thought (and Tests of Consistency).

When entertaining new ideas or evaluating my worldview, I often catch myself going through a process (consciously or unconsciously) of tests to see if the idea is consistent with what I believe and (more importantly) if the foundations of my worldview is consistent with what I believe.

As I do this, I go through the different avenues (or frontiers) of thought, questioning if it’s (even possibly) compatible. I ask:

  • “Does it agree emotionally?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree practically?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree pragmatically?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree historically?” and/or “Does its logical outworkings agree with reality?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree scientifically?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree philosophically?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Does it agree basically?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “What worldview does this conclusion lead to?”
    (And even if it does…)

  • “Are my presuppositions right?”
    (Restart)

*To make this process easier, I also think about a completely analogous situation (or as complete as possible), in which I have critically decided my views already, and check to see if the reasoning is compatible.
 
Related Article: 5 Ways to Make Your Point.
 

Leave a Reply

