Happy Re-birth Day Demetrius Doby!

 

Happy “born again” day to me! Today marks the day I gave my life to the Messiah of the Jews and the Savior of the world!

I was heavy in the Hip Hop underground scene and on the verge of making major moves, when the LORD God called my name. I was very religious, not missing a Sunday of church for months at a time. But simply going to church doesn’t save anyone. I wore crosses and even used all of the Christian clichés; but I lived a lifestyle no different from an unbelieving man (fornication drunkenness, theft, idolatry).

Until April 5th, 2005, when my life would be forever changed. I met a young man at my job (2 yrs younger than me) that blew my mind. Not only did he drive up bumping gospel music and boldly wore Christian tee shirts….he lived the life. I was used to seeing my elders serve God for real, but I figured “They’re old. They’ve had their fun. Now their years are spent, so they might as well serve God.” However, this guy was young. He was bold. He was ON FIRE!

I would often wonder how he could be so outspoken, and I admired him for being a real man. For doing something I didn’t really have the courage to do away from a church setting. Then one day, he started a convo with me. He never quoted one scripture. He just glorified God. By the time I clocked out from work, I was never the same. So much so, that I began to wish I’d never talked to him.

Long story short, God began to change me daily. I gave up any Hip Hop opportunities that awaited me and surrendered my life to God. Because of it, I’ve lost homies and even some family, but I gained eternal life through Jesus the eternal Christ! I’m still a work in progress, ever learning, and sometimes I fall…but by His grace, I keep moving…letting my light shine!

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. (2 Corinthians 5:17)

Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. (John 3:3)

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:6)

Leave a Reply

